Art Inspires Art

I’ve been looking over my Instagram photos from my Seattle trip. It was so much fun but I’m glad to be sleeping in my own bed again. The Chihuly Garden & Glass is my favorite part of the trip. The weather was awful outside and my feet were tried from walking everywhere but the colorful hand blown glass did a great job of making me forget my problems. I’ve always loved art. I took art every year in school! It’s one subject that I never got tired of. I liked English and history class but I always wanted to skip subjects that didn’t interest me. I was never one for poetry and you can only hear about the industrial revolution so many times. But art class was different. I did everything from charcoal self portraits to clay molded dinosaurs to texturing acrylics with a palette knife.

My parents learned very early on that I was a creative person. When I was 4 years old I recreated a painting I saw of a bowl of fruit with colored pencil. It wasn’t perfect but my proportions were accurate and I didn’t make the banana purple. Several years later I found a ceramic plate that had a similar drawing in colored pencil that was done by my grandmother. She passed away when I was only a month old but I take after her more than my mom and half-sister. Apparently the art gene skips around in the family!

Anyway the pictures of the Chihuly glass sculptures make me want to make something. I just don’t know what I want to make! I’ve worked in so many mediums that I don’t know how I want to express my inspiration! It seems like such a silly non issue but I’d like to think artists have these kinds of problems. The creative spirit is once again bogged down by reality! This happens far too often…

Maybe the soon-to-arrive Handmade Beauty Box will allow me to channel my creative energy!

Keep up with me on social media (more links in the future):

Instagram: http://instagram.com/theblackcurrantshop/

Twitter: @BlackCurrantWA

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCR5WLIY4E4TzgMgWQau2uew

Leave a comment!

