Week-In-Instagram: Feb 22nd- Feb 28th

If you’re like me sitting with coffee (or English Breakfast tea) in hand waiting for something new and exciting you’re in luck! My Etsy shop finally opened on Thursday! It’s been a very long road and it opened much later than I originally hoped. I was hoping for a January opening but I had a lot of bumps in the road. To give you an idea I had 2 suppliers shortchange my large quantity orders, I had another supplier take almost two weeks longer to ship an order (which I wasn’t made aware of until I emailed them almost a week into placing my order), my bank had problems with my mobile account and I had to work out bugs with them, etc etc. It was no small feat getting this shop open!

But it is here and it is ready to ship to US residents! Why only US residents? Unfortunately it’s a simple and complex answer: customs. Customs is expensive. Transit time is long. We all know what it’s like ordering from an overseas company and waiting patiently hoping it even clears to enter the country. Soap businesses have a tougher time than some other shops. Unlike sending earring or scarves we have ingredients. Some of these ingredients, like some botanicals, are banned in some countries! The tariffs and regulations put on products are all different for different reasons. I’m going to start researching which countries I can ship to without customs turning away my products. Once I am confident I can get to you I will ship to you! If you live across the ocean in Europe, Asia or Australia and you have an interest in my products let me know! The sooner you speak up the sooner I can look you up! I’ve already gotten one message from a person in Australia!

 

What is this? My Etsy shop opened? Rejoice! #SmallBusiness #Soap #WaxTarts I'll add the shop link to my bio asap!

A post shared by Leanna H (@theblackcurrantshop) on

 

My initial inventory is 200 glycerin soaps and 200 wax tarts! A full scent listing can be ready in my last blog post. So far 4 bars of soap and 1 wax tart have been ordered. Etsy has a policy in place for new shops that holds payments for about 3 days before it clears to me. This is a fraud prevention tool to protect all of us! Once payment clears I will be able to ship out my current orders. Keep this in mind when you place your order. After 90 days this hold will be reduced to about one day. Feel free to browse my shop and don’t hesitate to ask any questions! I try to reply back to Etsy conversations within 24 hours. If you don’t have an Etsy account yet you can always comment on this blog or reach me on Twitter! Have a fantastic sunday! 🙂

 

Keep up with my shop & social media!:

Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheBlackCurrant

Instagram: http://instagram.com/theblackcurrantshop/

Twitter: @BlackCurrantWA

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCR5WLIY4E4TzgMgWQau2uew

2 thoughts on “Week-In-Instagram: Feb 22nd- Feb 28th

    • Leanna H. says:

      Thank you for your interest! I will certainly put Chile at the top of my list! Be sure to check back in the future for any shipping updates.

      Like

Leave a comment!

